top of page

Gettin' Nifty With Some Thrifty

Honing in on what to talk about with my first thrift post, is like asking me to only scour just one section of a thrift store?! So many gems to search for and so many topics to share about hunting and gathering in a thrift store.

So we'll just start this baby off with how to transform into a fashionable hoarder...I mean how to start your journey as a nifty thrifty.

Step 1) Before you get ahead of yourself and start getting antsy...stop & do your prep by researching!

For me, I'm always on the hunt for the latest fashion trends that I can try to replicate for half the cost. It might be a color, material, or a specific piece of clothing I'm looking for.

Step 2) Almost there, not quite yet, make sure you leave your house dressed for some major thrift store shopping.

I always try to wear basics when thrifting (i.e. jeans, vintage tee, simple patterned skirt). That way if you are able to try on, you'll have a simple palate to work with. Also, wear shoes that are easy to slip on and off...and don't forget a side satchel, so both them hands are free to grab, grab, grab your scores!

Step 3) Don't freak out as you walk into those doors...deep breaths, deep breaths, yes it looks like too many clothes to sort through, but you got this!

For me, I don't limit myself to searching in my size, because history serves that the greatest finds are more than likely misplaced.

Step 4) If you have time and if you don't want any regrets...go ahead try dem clothes on girl!

I often take photos of myself in the dressing room that way I capture that article of clothing from a different perspective (and if I'm really unsure to ask family & friends what they think). I also find that if I am unsure of said piece of clothing, I'll look back at that iPhone shot while shopping to see if time has changed my mind.

How ya feeling there my lil' shopping friend? I'm hoping all amped up & ready to score your next holiday outfit!

xoxo

Mrs. Thrifty

bottom of page