top of page

Packin' On That Winter Coat

Tis' the season for baking, eating, and packing on that lovely winter coat (naw, not your cozy, big jacket, that nice lil' extra cushion, if you know what I mean). Now if you were raised anything like my mother raised me (to go above and beyond) you will not be buying those easy break and bake cookies to hand out to your neighbors this holiday season. And wait, kick it up an extra notch, now just forget the baking...that's right, we have entered into a whole other league...

Candy Making!

Found this nice little recipe on Pinterest (which also has step by step instructions via video) to help you create your salted caramel dreams come true. And take my advice, these little babies do wonders for that winter coat!

-After making, then easting all of these caramels,

Here are some tricks of the trade for ya-

Numero Uno) Prep, prep, prep those ingredients ahead of starting the candy making process. The more organized you are like measuring out everything beforehand, the smoother a process it is. Because this caramel making is fast paced and time specific in order to not completely botch the whole process.

*When greasing your pan, I would recommend "lightly" greasing or using no oil at all for the caramels base dish. I found that with the butter in the caramel recipe alone made it already slick enough.

Numero Dos) If you can, have a gal pal, or a mama, auntie, or some random lady you met in the grocery store aisle to help you out with the making caramel recipe. The more hands the merrier! It was really nice to have my mom help pour, while I stirred the extremely hot candy.

*Towards the end of the process, right before you pour the molten lava into the pan, mix in a half a tsp of vanilla extract into the mix.

Numero Tres) Wait for them to cool completely. I guess I didn't read the recipe all the way, because ours were cooling at room temperature for like 2 hours. Still turned out fab, but I guess the recipe states to put in the fridge.

Numero Cuatro) I used a pizza cutter to slice my caramels into the cute bite size shape. Way easier to maneuver the slip and slide caramels!

Numero Cinco) Instead of sprinkling sea salt halfway between the cooling process, as mentioned in the recipe, I found it easier to dip the tops of the actual caramel pieces into a dish full of sea salt.

Here is the link to the recipe in case you are too lazy to make it to the top of the page to click on "Pinterest." Or shoot even better, visit my actual Pinterest for more goodies to attempt to whip up!

xoxo

Mrs. Bon Apetite

bottom of page