top of page

Girl's Gone S.B.

Got a weekend available? Okay now, no you say? Really?! Alright, alright...what about a day? I've got somewhat of a head tilt out of you like you can make it work...I'll take it!

So, with that said...

Take my advice and make that day or shoot better yet, that weekend happen. And as my favorite fashion guru, Tim Gunn says, "Make it work!" Cuz you'll want to grab those very special ladies in your life by taking advantage of girl time.

Yes girl time: that good old time frame in your life where you find time in between grocery shopping, working, and watching the bachelor (make a fool of himself I might add). This last weekend, I jetsetted off to beautiful and sunny Santa Barbara with my gal pals (mama & lil' sis). Here are a couple of little scenes from our road trip to our fun & quick getaway.

We stayed at the Fess Parker of Santa Barbara (sometimes it can be found on Hotels Tonight) which is literally right on the main strip of palm trees a plenty and a couple steps to the beach.

Go ahead and do yourself a favor and hit up Funk Town. It's a trendy section of SB filled with good eats & drinks to make your night a fun one. We demolished some fixings at the Lucky Penny.

Don't forget to bring home a lil' taste of SB with your very own XL can of beer from Figueroa Mountain Brewery. I brought home the Lizard IPA and the ladies enjoyed a cold taste of the blonde ale.

For beautiful architecture (it's also free) go stroll around SB's Court House. It's got such a breathtaking view from the top of the bell tower. And around every corner there are timeless tiles framing the walls of the building.

Do yourself a solid and load up on the coffee. You've got two staple coffee shops right in downtown SB. 1) Handlebar coffee 2) French Press. We hit up French Press twice while there. Loaded up on our caffeine, in bean form (souvenirs for the men in our lives) and slurp form, for that extra energy we needed to hit up every bit of SB. Per my mom's suggestion, try the Shakerato (a fancy shaken espresso drank).

After your'e hyped up on coffee, walk your pretty lil' self to the farmer's market on Saturday's. They have everything from bee pollen, produce, and flowers that just give you all sorts of feels. Trust me, buy the flowers. I bought two bunches for fourteen bucks and these blooming babies are just all over my homestead. I'm in flower heaven, short of the fact that I think I've taken a thousand photos with them...yes with them.

And on your way back to the OC, stop at Summerland. I know, the name is just as cute as the place itself. A little town with little shops to spend all of your life's savings on. Adorable, just adorable.

And as I sit writing this post, reminiscing over all the scenes from SB, I'm grateful for the times spent with my favorite women...just us three, no babies, no husbands, and no to-do lists. These times are times to cherish and to hold near and dear to your heart. If I haven't convinced you to go to SB, do one thing, make memories with those you love.

xoxo

Mrs. Maps

bottom of page